My Bangin’ Blog

Helloooo!

Given that I’ll be moving to Spain in a little under three months, I decided it would be a great idea to create a blog to document my experiences while living abroad! I’ve never written a blog before, so forgive me if it is a) super boring, b) poorly written, or c) sounds too much like a diary… BUT, at least anyone reading this will get the gist of what I’m doing over 3000 miles away!

To give you an idea of where I’ll be, I’m in Galicia which is the autonomous community in the northwest corner of Spain, right above Portugal
Here is UN MAPA DE ESPAÑA
galicia spain map

Here is some basic info on what I’ll be up to in Spain:

  • I’ll be participating in a program run out of the Spanish Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports, known as “Auxiliares de Conversación” (In English, the “Language and Culture Assistants” Program)
  • I will be working 12 hours a week, 4 days a week as a teacher’s assistant in a secondary/high school — I won’t just be helping out in English classes, though. The auxiliar who worked at this school last year said he helped out in
    the bi-lingual sections of English, Music, Biology, and Philosophy.
  • The school is located in a small fishing village called Noia/Noya, where both Spanish and Gallego (one of the official languages of Galicia that’s a mix between Spanish and Portuguese) are spoken –> the school’s website is actually completely in Gallego, so I don’t understand a lot of it, but hopefully I’ll learn Gallego while I’m there!
Noia/Noya

Noia/Noya

  • I’ll also hopefully find opportunities to hold private tutoring lessons for students in order to earn some extra moolah for traveling and going out! I don’t know how great of a tutor I’ll be, but I’ll give it my best shot!
  • I plan on living in Santiago de Compostela, the capital of Galicia, and hopefully will be able to find one American and two Spanish roommates (fingers crossed!) to share an apartment with

I think that covers the basics. Wahooooooo! I can’t believe I’m actually doing this.

Leave a Reply

